New England's 15 Best Small Towns

Camden, ME
• Smiling Cow gift shop, 41 Main St., Camden, 207-236-3351, smilingcow.com.
• Boynton-McKay Food Co., 30 Main St., Camden, 207-236-2465, boynton-mckay.com.
EAT: Francine Bistro, 55 Chestnut St., Camden, 207-230-0083, francinebistro.com.
STAY: Camden Harbour Inn, 83 Bayview St., Camden, 800-236-4266, camdenharbourinn.com; doubles start from $250.


Dorset, VT

EAT: The Inn at West View Farm, 2928 Rte. 30, Dorset, 802-867-5715, innatwestviewfarm.com.

STAY: Dorset Inn, 8 Church St., Dorset, 802-867-5500, dorsetinn.com; doubles start from $150.

Essex, CT
• Connecticut River Museum, 67 Main St., Essex, 860-767-8269, ctrivermuseum.org.
• Becky Thatcher, Valley Railroad Company, One Railroad Ave., Essex, 860-767-0103, essexsteamtrain.com.
• Goodspeed Opera House, 6 Main St., East Haddam, 860-873-8668, goodspeed.org
• Gillette Castle State Park, 67 River Rd., East Haddam, 860-526-2336, ct.gov/dep.
• Griswold Inn, 36 Main St., Essex, 860-767-1776, griswoldinn.com.
EAT: Copper Beech Inn, 46 Main St., Ivoryton, 860-767-0330, copperbeechinn.com.
STAY: Griswold Inn; doubles start from $115.

Exeter, NH
EAT: Epoch, 2 Pine St., Exeter, 603-778-3762, epochrestaurant.com.
STAY: Exeter Inn, 90 Front St., 603-772-5901, theexeterinn.com; doubles start from $149.


Great Barrington, MA

• Pearl’s, 47 Railroad St., Great Barrington, 413-528-7767, pearlsrestaurant.com.
• Martin’s, 49 Railroad St., Great Barrington, 413-528-5455.
• Bizen, 17 Railroad St., Great Barrington, 413-528-4343.
• Allium, 42/44 Railroad St., Great Barrington, 413-528-2118, alliumberkshires.com.
• 20 Railroad Street, 20 Railroad St., Great Barrington, 413-528-9345.
• Soco Creamery, 5 Railroad St., Great Barrington, 413-528-9420, sococreamery.com.
EAT: At any of the above!
STAY: The Acorn’s Hope, 85 Alford Rd., Great Barrington, 413-528-2573, theacornshope.com; doubles start from $139.


Hancock, NH

• Hancock Inn, 33 Main St., Hancock, 603-525-3318, hancockinn.com.
EAT: Cantine Mexican Kitchen, One Jaffrey Rd., Peterborough, 603-924-3883,
cantinemex.com.
STAY: Hancock Inn; doubles start from $105.

Hanover, NH
• Lou’s, 30 S. Main St., Hanover, 603-643-3321, lousrestaurant.net.
• Molly’s, 43 S. Main St., Hanover, 603-643-2570, mollysrestaurant.com.
• Murphy’s, 11 S. Main St., Hanover, 603-643-4075, murphysonthegreen.com.
• Hopkins Center for the Arts, Dartmouth College, Hanover, 603-646-2422, hop.dartmouth.edu.
• Hanover Inn, 2 Main St., Hanover, 603-643-4300, hanoverinn.com.
EAT: Murphy’s, Molly’s, or Lou’s.
STAY: Hanover Inn; doubles start from $265.

Harvard, MA
• Carlson Orchards, 115 Oak Hill Rd., Harvard, 800-286-3916, carlsonorchards.com.
• Doe Orchards, 327 Ayer Rd., Harvard, 978-772-4139, doeorchards.com.
• Westward Orchards, 90 Oak Hill Rd., Harvard, 978-456-8363, westwardorchards.com
EAT: Gibbet Hill Grill, 61 Lowell Rd., Groton, 978-448-2900, gibbethill.com.
STAY: Amerscot House Inn, 61 W. Acton Rd., Stow, 978-897-0666, amerscot.com; doubles start from $130.

Little Compton, RI
• Sakonnet Vineyards, 162 W. Main Rd., Little Compton, 401-635-8486, sakonnetwine.com.
EAT: The Commons Lunch, 48 Commons Way, Little Compton, 401-635-4388.
STAY: The Stone House, 122 Sakonnet Point Rd., 401-635-2222, stonehouse1854.com; doubles start from $350 (includes three-course breakfast).

Lyndonville, VT
• Wildflower Inn, 2059 Darling Hill Rd., Lyndonville, 800-626-8310, wildflowerinn.com.
EAT: Juniper’s, 2059 Darling Hill Rd., Lyndonville, 800-627-8310, wildflowerinn.com.
STAY: Wildflower Inn; doubles start from $130.

Putnam, CT
• Vintage to Vogue, 112 Main St., Putnam, 860-963-7725, vintagetovogueshops.com.
• Wonderland Comics, 112 Main St., Putnam, 860-963-1027, wonderlandcomics.com.
• Jeremiah’s Antique Shops, 26 Front St., Putnam, 860-963-2671.
• Antiques Marketplace, 109 Main St., Putnam, 860-928-0442.
EAT: 85 Main, 85 Main St., Putnam, 860-928-1660, 85main.com
STAY: Gwyn Careg Inn, 68 Wolf Den Rd., Pomfret Center, 860-928-5018, gwyncareginn.com; doubles start from $125.

Rangeley, ME
• The Red Onion, 2511 Main St., Rangeley, 207-864-5022, rangeleyredonion.com.
• Rangeley Inn, 2443 Main St., Rangeley, 207-864-3341.
• River’s Edge Sports, 38 Carry Rd., Oquossoc, 207-864-5582, riversedgesports.com.
EAT: The Red Onion.
STAY: Rangeley Inn; doubles start from $84.

Sharon, CT
EAT: Pastorale, 223 Main St., Lakeville, 860-435-1011, pastoralebistro.com.
STAY: Wake Robin Inn, 106 Sharon Rd., Lakeville, 860-435-2000, wakerobininn.com; doubles start from $149.

Shelburne Falls, MA
• Shelburne Arts Co-op, 26 Bridge St., Shelburne Falls, 413-625-9324, shelburneartscoop.com.
• Angelic Glass/Young & Constantin, 4 Deerfield Ave., Shelburne Falls, 866-625-6422, yandcglass.com.
• Ann Brauer Quilt Studio, 2 Conway St., Shelburne Falls, 413-625-8605, annbrauer.com.
• Stillwater Porcelain, 50 State St., Shelburne Falls, 413-625-8250, stillwaterporcelain.com.
• Laurie Goddard Studios, 9 Bridge St., Shelburne Falls, 413-625-8120, lauriegoddard.com.
• Molly Cantor Pottery, 20 Bridge St., 413-625-2870, mollypots.com.
EAT: Gypsy Apple, 65 Bridge St., Shelburne Falls, 413-625-6345.
STAY: Dancing Bear Guest House, 22 Mechanic St., 413-625-9281, dancingbearguesthouse.com; doubles start from $119.

Woodstock, VT
• Woodstock Inn and Resort, 14 the Green, Woodstock, 802-457-1100, woodstockinn.com.
EAT: The Red Rooster, 14 the Green, Woodstock, 802-457-1100, woodstockinn.com; Osteria Pane e Salute, 61 Central St., Woodstock, 802-457-4882, osteriapaneesalute.com.
STAY: Woodstock Inn and Resort; doubles start from $350.

ADVERTISMENT