The Best Instagrams of Boston’s Tall Ships

The photogenic Sail Boston 2017 kicked off this weekend. By Spencer Buell and Casey Russell

The Tall Ships sailed into Boston this weekend, bringing crowds of spectators to ogle their huge, elegant majesty. Fifty-six ships took part in a Parade of Sail Saturday morning, and now each of them are available to board (for free!) on docks around the city, where they will stay until they leave Thursday morning. It’s a rare opportunity to see so many Tall Ships in one place up close, and for those with the eye for it, it’s a great chance to get some premium Instagram pics. We strongly recommend you go see it for yourself. In the meantime, here are the best Instagrams of Sail Boston 2017. 

The Parade of Tall Ships! These beautiful vessels will be docked in Boston and available for tours until Wednesday!

A post shared by The Boston Bon Vivant 👒 (@the.boston.bon.vivant) on

What a wonderful weekend! 💙⚓️ #sailboston 📷: @jeffnewcum #bostondaybook

A post shared by The Boston Day Book (@bostondaybook) on

The Tall Ships were a sight to behold! #sailboston #tallshipsboston #newengland #boston #bostonharbor

A post shared by Mary Myrick (@capecodvillages) on

feature photo // @sailboston @followingboston #FollowingBoston #SailBoston selected @greg_dubois

A post shared by Following Boston (@followingboston) on

Great Father's Day at #SailBoston ⛵️

A post shared by Kathy Bero (@kathy.bero) on

#tallshipfestival2017 #sailboston

A post shared by Nick Moorad (@nickmoorad) on

On the lookout for tall ships 👀⛵️⚓️

A post shared by Peace + Paws (@peace_and_paws) on

Took a trip down to #fanpier in #boston last night with @ryan_d_bethune to get some photos of the #sailboston ships.

A post shared by Alec Bellante (@alecbellante) on

ᴛᴀʟʟ sʜɪᴘs ғʀᴏᴍ 14 ᴅɪғғᴇʀᴇɴᴛ ᴄᴏᴜɴᴛʀɪᴇs🌎⛵️🇺🇸

A post shared by ——————– (@obtuseproductions) on

I'm on a boat #boston #sailboston2017

A post shared by Roberto Portillo (@roberto_portillo) on

The old city #sailboston2017 #tallships

A post shared by Luke Johnson (@lukasnormandy) on

Loose lips, tall ships. #TallShips #TallShips2017 #Boston #BostonHarbor

A post shared by Alyssa Adler (@alyssa_rose_adler) on

Wish I was doing boat work today. Photo of @barkeuropa taken Saturday. #sailboston2017 #backattheoffice

A post shared by B (@doctordomhnall) on

#sailboston2017 #tallships #esmeralda #bostonharbor #boston #visitmass #seaportboston #bostonUSA

A post shared by @eyeseenofilter on


Spencer Buell Staff Writer at Boston Magazine sbuell@bostonmagazine.com