Summer 2015 Events at the Boston Public Library

summer events at the boston public library

PHOTO BY OLGA KHVAN

The McKim Courtyard at the Boston Public Library is not only one of the most Instagram-worthy spots in the city, but the open space is also an ideal environment for intimate shows outdoors. The BPL’s popular and free Concerts in the Courtyard series kicks off on Wednesday, June 3, bringing energetic musicians to the beautiful scene throughout the summer season.

The performances will provide a variety of music from jazz and funk to pop and folk, each one taking place on Wednesdays at 6 p.m. and Fridays at 12:30 p.m. On Wednesdays throughout June, Berklee students and alumni will take the stage.

Check out the full lineup and schedule below.

Wednesday, June 3 at 6 p.m.: Aliya Cycon Project, world, instrumental
Friday, June 5 at 6 12:30 p.m.: Neha, jazz, folk, blues

Wednesday, June 10 at 6 p.m.: Nicolás Castañeda Group, contemporary Colombian
Friday, June 12 at 12:30 p.m.: Patrick Coman, folk

Wednesday, June 17 at 6 p.m.: ChoroBop, jazz, world
Friday, June 19 at 12:30 p.m.: Akiko Kobayashi, folk

Wednesday, June 24 at 6 p.m.: Wambura Mitaru, funk, R&B, jazz
Friday, June 26 at 12:30 p.m.: Properly Unprepared, jazz

Wednesday, July 1 at 6 p.m.: Felipe Abad, Latin, pop
Friday, July 3 at 12:30 p.m.: Handel and Haydn Society, world

Wednesday, July 8 at 6 p.m.: Honeysuckle, folk
Friday, July 10 at 12:30 p.m.: Cocek! Brass Band, instrumental

Wednesday, July 15 at 6 p.m.: Charles Overton, classic, jazz
Friday, July 17 at 12:30 p.m.: Women in World Jazz, jazz

Wednesday, July 22 at 6 p.m.: Damn Tall Buildings, acoustic
Friday, July 24 at 12:30 p.m.: Amaryllis Chamber Ensemble, world

Wednesday, July 22 at 6 p.m.: 3 Sudacas, Latin
Friday, July 24 at 12:30 p.m.: Boston Youth Symphony Orchestras’ Intensive Community Program, string, instrumental

Wednesday, August 5 at 6 p.m.: The Wiles, folk
Friday, August 7 at 12:30 p.m.: Kevin Harris Project, traditional, contemporary

Wednesday, August 12 at 6 p.m.: MIXCLA, world, jazz
Friday, August 14 at 12:30 p.m.: Hiroya Tsukamoto, world

Wednesday, August 19 at 6 p.m.: The Ivy Age, folk, rock
Friday, August 21 at 12:30 p.m.: Thompson-Lamb-Panitch Folk Trio, world

Wednesday, August 26 at 6 p.m.: Ludovica Burtone, strings
Friday, August 28 at 12:30 p.m.: Handel and Haydn Society, classic

 

Boston Public Library, 700 Boylston St., Boston, 617-536-5400, bpl.org.

 


More summer fun including events, concerts, getaways, and more this way »


Source URL: https://www.bostonmagazine.com/arts-entertainment/2015/06/01/summer-2015-events-bpl-boston-public-library-concerts-courtyard/