Listen to a Crisp Audio Recording of David Bowie’s Orpheum Show

The Boston show from his 'Heathen' tour included a fitting tribute to the Pixies. —Michael Marotta

This post originally appeared on Vanyaland.

David Bowie

David Bowie / Still from YouTube

Post updated January 11, 2016: Friday was David Bowie Day across the land, as the timeless rock icon celebrated both his 69th birthday and the release of new album, Blackstar. This morning, we unexpectedly awoke to the news of the music and fashion legend’s passing, and it’s still difficult to read: David Bowie died yesterday after an 18-month battle with cancer. His ailment was not revealed to the public until this morning.

Before the weekend hit, and with a mind set on celebrating a man who was still actively falling to Earth, music writer Annie Zaleski tipped us off to a crystal-clear audio recording of Bowie’s October 2002 show at Boston’s Orpheum Theatre. One of the stops along his Heathen tour, the 24-song performance spans much of the legend’s career up to that point, and includes (early on) his cover of the Pixies’ “Cactus.” Bowie briefly talks about Frank Black around the 10-minute mark.

Though no doubt this audio has been floating around the Internet and available for those who seek this sort of thing out, the bootleg—apparently recorded by a fan in the crowd—is still pretty fresh on YouTube, with less than 500 plays at original press time. And the audio is pretty fantastic.

Scan the full set list below, and read some archived reviews of the show from the Herald and Globe, on this day devoted to honoring the man with the greatest gift he gave us: his music.

David Bowie, live at the Orpheum in Boston
October 23, 2002

01. Sunday
02. Cactus
03. Breaking Glass
04. Fame
05. Ashes to Ashes
06. Slip Away
07. China Girl
08. 5:15 the Angels Have Gone
09. Starman
10. Absolute Beginners
11. I’ve Been Waiting for You
12. Afraid
13. Fashion
14. Be My Wife
15. Alabama Song
16. Sound and Vision
17. Rebel Rebel
18. I’m Afraid of Americans
19. Life on Mars?
20. “Heroes”
21. Heathen (The Rays)

22. White Light/White Heat
23. Let’s Dance
24. Ziggy Stardust