Boston Calling Block Parties 2016 Lineup

By ·

boston calling block parties 2016 lineup

Photo by Mike Diskin Provided

They’re ba-ack. Better weather signals the return of summer entertainment season, and one favorite—the Boston Calling Block Party series—kicks off this week at Dewey Square Park. You know it as that patch of grass by South Station with the ever-changing mural, currently a cool typographic work by Lawrence Weiner.

Free to attend, the popular weekly series brings concerts to the Greenway every Thursday night throughout summer.

Hosted by Crash Line Productions, which produces the three-day Boston Calling music festival at City Hall Plaza twice a year, the casual concert series runs through September 15. That means every Thursday starting now to September, whenever you and your friends don’t know how to spend Thirsty Thursday, there’s a free show—and a cash bar—waiting for you at Dewey Square.

Odds of running into your boss there? One to nine, maybe higher if you work in Financial District.

Check out the full lineup below.

Boston Calling Block Parties, Thursdays 5-8 p.m., May 12-September 15, Dewey Square Park on the Rose Kennedy Greenway by South Station, facebook.com/bostoncallingblockparties.

Thursday, May 12, 2016
Tigerman WOAH

Thursday, May 19, 2016
The Almighty Buck

Thursday, May 26, 2016
The Swinging Johnsons

Thursday, June 2, 2016
Nemes

Thursday, June 9, 2016
hi8us

Thursday, June 16, 2016
Cask Mouse

Thursday, June 23, 2016
Bourbon Chasers

Thursday, June 30, 2016
The Absolute Gentleman

Thursday, July 7, 2016
Await Rescue

Thursday, July 14, 2016
The Way Ways

Thursday, July 21, 2016
The Almighty Buck

Thursday, July 28, 2016
TBA

Thursday, August 4, 2016
The Swinging Johnsons

Thursday, August 11, 2016
Salem Wolves

Thursday, August 18, 2016
SYM

Thursday, August 25, 2016
Workman Song

Thursday, September 1, 2016
The Nonplussed

Thursday, September 8, 2016
TBA

Thursday, September 15, 2016
TBA

 

bar

Want more summer?
Of course you do.
Browse hundreds of ideas:

Your Ultimate Guide to Summer Events

Source URL: https://www.bostonmagazine.com/arts-entertainment/2016/05/05/boston-calling-block-party-lineup-summer-2016/