Boston Music Awards 2016 Nominees Include Meghan Trainor, JoJo

Did your favorite local bands and artists make it onto this year's nominations list?

JoJo and Meghan Trainor


The Boston Music Awards released its list of 2016 nominees on Friday morning and a few local mainstream stars made the cut.

Founded in 1987, the annual ceremony celebrates a mix of indie and high-profile acts from the area, as well as other aspects of the Boston music scene. This year’s show, which takes place at the House of Blues in December, will include four new awards, making for a total of 33 categories.

While it’s not quite the Grammys, the list of 2016 BMA nominees boasts a number of notable artists and bands, particularly in the pop category, as Meghan Trainor, JoJo, and Rachel Platten will all be going head-to-head to be crowned the city’s biggest hit maker. Perennial favorites such as Will Dailey, Speedy Ortiz, Bad Rabbits, and Air Traffic Controller also earned a slew of nominations.

The winners will be decided by the through an online voting system, which kicks off on Friday, September 23, while performers for this year’s BMAs will be announced on Monday, October 10.

Check out the full list of nominees below.

Artist of the Year

Cousin Stizz Marissa Nadler

Michael Christmas



The Ballroom Thieves

Album/EP of the Year

Bearstronaut – Telecoast

Cousin Stizz – Monda

Julie Rhodes – Bound to Meet the Devil

Reks – The Greatest X

The Hotelier – Goodness

Worshipper – Shadow Hymns

Song of the Year

Air Traffic Controller – “On the Wire”

Contact – “Never Stop”

Cousin Stizz – “Where I Came From”

Marissa Nadler – “Janie in Love”

PVRIS – “You and I”

Speedy Ortiz – “Death Note”

New Artist of the Year

Animal Flag

Julie Rhodes

Lady Pills

Salem Wolves


Weakened Friends

Live Artist of the Year

Cousin Stizz

The Ballroom Thieves

The Devil’s Twins

Tigerman Woah

Walter Sickert and the Army of Broken Toys


Video of the Year

Air Traffic Controller – “The House”

Kyle Bent – “Supplier”

Palehound – “Molly”

PVRIS – “You and I”

Ruby Rose Fox – “Dance of Frankenstein”

Slaine – “Pusher”

Female Vocalist of the Year

Abbie Barrett

Casey Sullivan (Air Traffic Controller)

Julie Rhodes

Lyndsey Gunnulfsen (PVRIS)

Ruby Rose Fox

Sadie Dupuis (Speedy Ortiz)

Male Vocalist of the Year

Chris Cote

Dietrich Strause

Evan Kenney

Louie Bello

Walter Sickert

Will Dailey

Americana Artist of the Year

Honeysuckle Julie Rhodes

Session Americana

The Ballroom Thieves

These Wild Plains

Tigerman Woah

Blues Artist of the Year

Barrence Whitfield and the Savages

Matthew Stubbs and the Antiguas

Peter Parcek

Shor’ty Billups

The Silks

Willie J. Laws Band

DJ/Producer of the Year

DJ Knife

DJ Slipwax

Frank White

Joe Bermudez


Leah V

Electronic Artist of the Year





Party Bois

Radclyffe Hall

Folk Artist of the Year

Dan Blakeslee



Tall Heights

The Ballroom Thieves

The Novel Ideas

Hip Hop Artist of the Year

Cousin Stizz

Dutch ReBelle

Michael Christmas




International Artist of the Year

Debo Band

Dub Apocalypse

Rebecca Zama

Roberto Morbioli

Shun Ng

Ubuntu Band

Jazz Artist of the Year

Alison Keslow

Amanda Carr

Esperanza Spalding

Grace Kelly

La Vie en Rose

Yoko Miwa

Metal Artist of the Year



I Am Become Death

Protean Collective



Pop Artist of the Year

Clinton Sparks



Meghan Trainor


Rachel Platten

Punk/Hardcore Artist of the Year



Choke Up



The Hotelier

R&B Artist of the Year

Bad Rabbits

Barrence Whitfield and the Savages

Jesse Dee

Marcela Cruz


Shea Rose

Rock/Indie Artist of the Year

Black Beach



Speedy Ortiz

The Devil’s Twins


Singer-Songwriter of the Year

Abbie Barrett

Lori McKenna

Marissa Nadler

Nate Leavitt

Ruby Rose Fox

Will Dailey

Studio Producer of the Year

Benny Grotto

Brian Charles

Dave Brophy

Ed Valauskas

Sean McLaughlin

The Arcitype (Janos Fulop)

Live Production Engineer of the Year

Benjamin Stoppelman

Brendon Downey

Chris Johnson

Dan Gonzales

David Hughes

Reid Calkin

Best Live Music Photographer

Ben Stas

Coleman Rogers

Eddy Leiva

Johnny Anguish

Joshua Pickering

Rich Gastwirt

Best Music Photo of the Year

Will be announced online in October.

Best Promoter

Aaron Gray – Grayskull Booking

Alyssa Spector – Lysten Boston Jason Trefts – Illegally Blind

Lisa Finelli – Xperience Creative

Randi Millman – Atwood’s Tavern

Ryan Agate – RTT Presents

Best Music Night

Corrosion at Brighton Music Hall

Emo Night at the Sinclair

Fresh Produce at Good Life

Heroes at Middle East

Soulelujah at ZuZu

The Workout KBX at Laugh Boston

Best Live Music Venue

Brighton Music Hall

House of Blues

Paradise Rock Club


The Middle East Downstairs

The Sinclair

Best Live Intimate Music Venue

Club Passim

Great Scott

Lizard Lounge

O’Brien’s Pub

Once Ballroom


Best Live Ongoing Residency

Baker Thomas Band at Toad

Dennis Brennan at the Lizard Lounge

OldJack’s Last Saturdays at the Lizard Lounge

The Blue Ribbons at Toad

The White Owls at Toad

Tim Gearan at Atwood’s

Session Musician of the Year

Dave Brophy

Duke Levine

Jonathan Ulman

Lyle Brewer

Matthew Girard

Paul Ahlstrand

Best Music Blog

Allston Pudding

Boston Hassle

Guestlisted with Jed Gottlieb

Killer Boom Box

Red Line Roots


The 2016 Boston Music Awards take place Thursday, December 8 at the House of Blues. Tickets are on sale now. For more infomation, check out