Beth Israel Deaconess Awarded Prize for Leadership and Safety

The awards are given to hospitals that focus on reliable, quality care.

Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center (BIDMC) has been awarded the 2013 American Hospital Association (AHA)-McKesson Quest for Quality Prize, which recognizes hospital leadership and innovation in quality improvement and safety. “We are honored to be recognized for a commitment to quality and safety that is reflected at all levels of the organization,” says Dr. Kevin Tabb, BIDMC’s president and CEO. “I am proud of everyone who has contributed to this distinction.”

The award goes to a hospital that shows a commitment to the Institute of Medicine’s six quality aims — safety, patient-centeredness, effectiveness, efficiency, timeliness, and equity. One goal of the award is to honor hospitals that are making progress in quality improvement with models that can be replicated by others in the hospital field so that the same qualities can spread throughout the country.

“The AHA-McKesson Quest for Quality Prize spotlights an organization-wide commitment to highly reliable, patient-focused care provided with exceptional quality,” says Rich Umbdenstock, AHA’s President and CEO in a press release.  “These hospitals supply lessons from which all hospitals can learn.”

BIDMC was one of four U.S. hospitals recognized. The other honoree was Franklin Woods Community Hospital in Johnson City, Tenn., which is being honored as a finalist, and St. Mary’s Hospital in Centralia, Ill. and Vidant Medical Center in Greenville, NC which will receive citations of merit.

The McKesson corporation is a healthcare services and information technology company dedicated to helping its customers deliver high-quality healthcare by reducing costs, streamlining processes, and improving the quality and safety of patient care. They team up with the AHA which is not-for-profit association of health care provider organizations and individuals committed to the improvement of health in their communities, to give out the annual prize.