Photos: High Hopes Gala

Check out scenes from the November 3, 2018, event at The Castle at Park Plaza.

On November 3, 2018, nearly 500 guests attended Joslin Diabetes Center’s 19th annual black-tie High Hopes Gala at The Castle at Park Plaza. Guests had the opportunity to mingle with former New England Patriots cornerback and Class of 2018 Pro Football Hall of Fame Finalist Ty Law. The evening was emceed by Kristy Lee of NBC 10 Boston and honored the Aiello and Beetham families of the Beetham Eye Institute for their generations of work in treating and reversing diabetes-related blindness. Emma and Sarah Sabourin, young Joslin patients, ages 9 and 13, and diabetes advocates, received this year’s Spotlight on Hope award, and Casey McNamara was named Joslin’s 2019 Merritt Levitan Youth Ambassador. As ambassador, the 18-year-old high school senior will take an active role in enhancing diabetes awareness. The event raised more than $1.3 million for Joslin’s High Hopes Fund which directly supports the Center’s greatest efforts to identify breakthrough advancements in diabetes research and in providing world-renowned clinical care.

Photography by Michael Blanchard Photography

Joslin’s 2019 Merritt Levitan Youth Ambassador, Casey McNamara, with former New England Patriot Ty Law

Kristy Lee, NBC 10 Boston’s evening anchor, with Dr. Peter Amenta, President & CEO of Joslin, and wife, Edna

Dr. Peter Amenta and wife, Edna, with Dr. Lloyd P. Aiello (back), Nancy Aiello, and Dr. Lloyd M. Aiello

Senator Jeanne Shaheen and husband, Bill

Ann Lagasse, owner of Lagasse Real Estate LLC and Joslin Trustee, with son, Charlie

Spotlight on Hope honorees, Emma and Sarah Sabourin, with their mother, Julia

Jerry Rossi of TJX Companies with wife, Gerri

Joslin’s 2019 Merritt Levitan Youth Ambassador, Casey McNamara, with her father and stepmother, Mike and Pam McNamara

Dr. Robert Gabbay, Chief Medical Officer of Joslin, and wife, Christi, with Diane McGilliougdy and Scott Sherman

Nancy and Dr. Lloyd M. Aiello hug as Dr. Aiello is honored for his work with the Beetham Eye Institute