Denna Laing, Boston Pride Sweep Inaugural NWHL Awards

The Isobel Cup champs cleaned up Sunday night.

Photo courtesy of the National Women's Hockey League

Photo courtesy of the National Women’s Hockey League

Fresh off their Isobel Cup win over the Buffalo Beauts last weekend, the Boston Pride swept the first-ever NWHL Awards, with Marblehead native Denna Laing leading the way.

The event was hosted at the University of New Hampshire, home of this year’s Frozen Four tournament, and the winners were announced via social media.

Laing captured the NWHL Foundation Award, awarded to the player who “most actively applying the core values of hockey to her community as well as growing and improving hockey culture.” Nominees were selected by the NWHL Players Association, and the winner was selected by fan vote. Laing also won the Perseverance Award, given by the NWHL Writers’ Group to the player who most exemplifies “perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to her sport.”

Laing suffered a severe spinal injury while playing in the Outdoor Women’s Classic at Gillette Stadium, and has since chronicled her inspiring recovery on social media.

Brianna Decker beat her fellow Pride co-captain Hilary Knight for the league’s MVP award, voted by the NWHLPA. Knight, who scored the first goal in team history just a scant few months ago, was named the league’s leading scorer, with the most points in the regular season.

The NWHL Writers’ Group named Gigi Marvin the league’s best defensemen, and Brittany Ott, its best goaltender.