Here Are The Winners of the 2013 Boston Political Awards

Drumroll, please.

Marty Walsh

Marty Walsh photo via AP

Last week, I asked you to vote for the 2013 Massachusetts political award winners. Now it’s time for the results—and my thoughts. I am in agreement with the voters: the honors go to Marty Walsh, Michelle Wu, and Michael Flaherty.

Politician of the Year:

52%     Marty Walsh
9%       Linda Dorcena Forry
2%       Katherine Clark
4%       John Connolly
4%      Ayanna Pressley
3%      Ed Markey
27%    Other

I’m in full agreement with the masses: Marty Walsh went from being a relatively obscure state rep and labor leader to mayor-elect of the city, so, yeah, I think that’s a pretty good political year. Most of the write-ins were a concentrated effort for new Suffolk County Register of Probate Patty Campatelli (who was sworn in at the beginning of January, but was elected in 2012).

Rookie of the Year:

35%     Michelle Wu
23%     John Barros
23%     Dan Cullinane
6%       Gabriel Gomez
3%       Tim McCarthy
2%       Jay Livingstone
2%       Josh Zakim
6%       Other

Last year, Michelle Wu got a law degree and got married. This year, she was the second-best vote earner in the city and won an at-large seat on the Boston City Council. You know what she’ll do next year? Turn 29. Definitely the rookie of the year—and voters recognized it despite the recent flap over her support of Bill Linehan for council president. Barros surely deserved votes. I think the voters are too harsh on Republican US Senate nominee Gabriel Gomez, but maybe they’re discounting him for not being a Bostonian. And the Cullinane enthusiasts might be a little over-eager, but the new Dorchester state rep certainly did have a good year, helping Forry win her state senate race and then winning her house seat.

Comeback of the Year:

32%     Michael Flahery
30%     Bill Linehan
23%     Charlotte Golar Richie
9%       Charlie Baker
6%       Other

I would definitely give this one to Flaherty, who won his way back onto the City Council after a failed mayoral run in 2009 and losing a 2011 attempt at the Council. But Richie’s return to political prominence, and Linehan’s strong re-election—and apparent rise to council president—are also deserving. Baker can try for the honor next year.